Credit Suisse and Cosmoscow to grant the Young Artist Prize for the fourth time

Credit Suisse and Cosmoscow

Thanks to a new partnership with Pro Helvetia Moscow, the winner can participate in a 3-month studio residency in Switzerland

Credit Suisse and Cosmoscow
Asya Marakulina “Playroom” artwork from the “Hidden Seams” series (2016), Credit Suisse collection

Moscow, 01 August, 2019 – Credit Suisse, one of the world's leading financial services providers, and Cosmoscow, the international contemporary art fair, announce the fourth annual Credit Suisse Cosmoscow Prize for Young Artists aimed to help emerging creative talent in Russia move forward with their careers.The winner will receive a financial grant of CHF 3,000, mentorship support and the opportunity to participate in an art residency at the PROGR Art Center in Bern, Switzerland. Thanks to the new partnership with Pro Helvetia Moscow, which supports Swiss arts in Russia and promotes cultural exchange, the winning artist’s stay in Switzerland will be extended from one to three months.  

Launched in 2016, the Credit Suisse Cosmoscow Prize for Young Artists complements the strategic partnership between the bank and the fair,which started in 2015, and takes place in partnership with Cosmoscow Foundation for Contemporary Art, established in 2017. The winner of the award will be announced during Cosmoscow’s opening press conference at Gostiny Dvor, Moscow, on the 5th of September.

The artist selection is subject to a two-step judging process. First, the expert panel comprised of well-known art experts defines five nominees each, and then the international prize jury chooses the winner. Artists with Russian citizenship under the age of 35 working across both visual and multimedia art are eligible for the Prize. 

The expert panel for the Credit Suisse Cosmoscow Prize for Young Artists 2019 includes the following art professionals: Anna Zhurba, curator at the Moscow Museum of Modern Art; Maria Kramar, curator at the V-A-C Foundation; Stanislav Shuripa, professor at the Institute of Contemporary Art; Asya Philippova, director of the CCI Fabrika. Among the jury are André Rogger, head of Credit Suisse Collection; Alina Saprykina, art manager, until recently the general director of the Museum association “Museum of Moscow” (2013-2019); Anna Arutyunova, Head of Pro Helvetia Moscow; Andrey Erofeev, art historian and curator; Simon Rees, art director of Cosmoscow, curator and writer.

Full Press Release



Download The Tretyakov Gallery Magazine in App StoreDownload The Tretyakov Gallery Magazine in Google play